You are here:  Home  >  Featured Press  >  Current Article

The Big Three Jewels: Why Ruby, Sapphire and Emerald Top the List of Precious Gems

By   /   May 17, 2016  /   No Comments

Until recently, only emerald, ruby and sapphire were officially called precious gems. Everything else was called semi-precious. The precious categorization is a reference to value: a really fine ruby, emerald or sapphire can be priced higher per carat than a diamond. Sapphires are extremely hard and durable, so they will last a forever in a piece of jewelry, and rubies and emeralds are extremely rare. There are some rare finds among the so-called semi-precious gems that can be priced higher than the big three, but in general, a fine ruby, sapphire or emerald will hold its value and command more respect and a higher price than other gemstone. That is the reason Art Deco jewelry – heavy on the big three – is usually prized over other period jewelry. Top watch brands, mindful of this, use emerald, ruby and sapphire in their most important jewelry watches, as the big three below demonstrate – from Cartier , Backes & Strauss and Van Cleef & Arpels.


Read more at http://www.forbes.com/sites/carolbesler/2016/03/11/the-big-three-why-ruby-sapphire-and-emerald-top-the-list-of-precious-gems/#18b74963804b


    Print       Email

You might also like...


Signed Jewelry at New York Loan

Read More →